Helios, bringer of joy

In a typical year in my country, there aren’t that many days of sunshine per year and the highest temperature I’ve ever experienced was about 25°C. That makes it all the more special when Helios does decide to bring us sunshine and heat. It’s very much a part of the culture here to ‘make the most of the sun’ (as it usually doesn’t last long) which means that on a sunny day the majority of people will be go outside to enjoy themselves.

This, in my eyes, in Helios’ blessing. He gives me the opportunity to get out of the house and go and do something, live my life, in you will. I went down to the beach today (I’m on my holidays at the minute though still in the same country) and even while I was walking down there there was such a profound feeling of happiness in the air that I ended up including Helios in my libations (that’s another post coming up soon) even though I had not originally planned to.

To me Helios symbolises making the most of the here and now, and truly revelling in any happiness that comes your way.

And to make up for the large amount of UPG in this post, I’ll end with a quote,

‘Hail to you, lord! Freely bestow on me substance that cheers the heart.’ – Homeric Hymn #31

Leave a Reply

