The importance of being heartfelt

Have some of my personal opinion on worship. I don’t believe that there is only one ‘right’ way to worship the Gods but then again I’m not a full on reconstructionist. Anyway, here we go.

Imagine two situations in which a person (let’s call them Mark, why not?) worships the Gods. In the first scenario Mark carries out a full ritual with as much historical accuracy as is possible but mentally he’s totally uninterested and his mind has wandered to what he’s going to have for tea rather that focussed on praising the Gods. In the second scenario Mark does nothing expect close his eyes, clasp his hands together and pray but his mind is totally centred on his worship. Which of the two scenarios is more pleasing to the Gods? Which one worships Them more thoroughly? That’s for the individual to decide.

As important as it is to honour traditions, I think it’s more important to be sincere in what you’re doing. Carrying out rituals is difficult for me anyway as I have the attention span of a gnat and living with my family does limit me in terms of time, space and how much noise I can make. One day I would love to take part in a group ritual which would maybe be easier for me in focus in but for now I think I’ll stick to simpler forms of worship and be heartfelt in them.

Unless the Gods tell me otherwise, of course.

Leave a Reply

